Motion2 Ultra 1080p

Everything about Picture2 - advanced post-processing engine

Postby red_one » Sun Dec 02, 2012 11:39 am

Playing 1080p video with the following settings in SplashPro, the video plays smoothly. Average CPU load is 30-40%.

Best Quality (1080i -> 1080p): Enabled
Motion2: +10
Detail Boost: 8
Motion2 Ultra 1080p: Disabled

When I enable Motion2 Ultra 1080p, the video plays semi-smoothly. There are noticeable video stutters every few minutes. The CPU load remains the same, between 30-40%.

Question, what am I really missing when "Motion2 Ultra 1080p" is disabled? What is its purpose? Does it have a different function versus "Motion2" setting in "Playback Options"?

My notebook spec: Intel Core i3-3217U 1.8GHz (2 Cores/4 Threads), 4GB RAM, Intel HD 4000 Graphics, Windows 8. Connected to external Full HD (1080) LED monitor via HDMI port.

Thanks.
red_one
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 10:20 am
PC Specification: i3-3217U, Intel HD 4000, Windows 8

Postby vivan » Sun Dec 02, 2012 5:12 pm

When Ultra is disabled and Motion² is enabled - than 1080p content is downscaled to 720p before all the processing.
Desktop (Intel i7-970, ATI 5870, Windows 7 x64)
Acer Aspire TimelineX 3830TG (Intel i5-2410M, nVidia GT540M, Windows 7 x64)
PS Vita, Nokia N8
User avatar
vivan
Expert User
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 10:56 am
Location: St. Petersburg, Russia
PC Specification: Acer Aspire TimelineX 3830TG

Postby red_one » Mon Dec 03, 2012 12:17 am

Hi Vivian.

Does this mean that the 1080p video is downscaled to 720p for processing, and then upscaled back to 1080p for playback?

Or is it kept at 720p for playback?
red_one
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 10:20 am
PC Specification: i3-3217U, Intel HD 4000, Windows 8

Postby vivan » Mon Dec 03, 2012 3:35 am

red_one wrote:and then upscaled back to 1080p for playback?
Yes. In the end it's scaled to the video window size - e.g. to 1080p if you're outputting 1080p.
So the chain for 1080p is:
non-Ultra: video file -> decoded video -> downscaling to 720p -> processing -> scaling to window.
Ultra: video file -> decoded video -> processing -> scaling to window.

Basically that means that if you have same videos with different resoultions (720p and 1080p), than with non-Ultra Motion² 1080p video would not look better than 720p one. That is the price for lowering CPU load (2 times less pixels to process -> less load). With Ultra turned on CPU load should be 1.5-2 times higher. So that's strange that in your case it remains the same...

Cpu load depends on content (e.g. static scene requires much less computation) and it can vary a lot. I'm having about 70-80% maximum CPU load when playing 1080p with Ultra turned on on i5-2410m (2 cores + HT, up to 2.9Ghz BUT Sandy Bridge, not Ivy Bridge). I think your CPU (that is slower by 30%, judging by the benchmarks) is not fast enough. Can you re-check if CPU load is near 100% at moments when video is shuttering?
Desktop (Intel i7-970, ATI 5870, Windows 7 x64)
Acer Aspire TimelineX 3830TG (Intel i5-2410M, nVidia GT540M, Windows 7 x64)
PS Vita, Nokia N8
User avatar
vivan
Expert User
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 10:56 am
Location: St. Petersburg, Russia
PC Specification: Acer Aspire TimelineX 3830TG

Postby picaadi » Mon Dec 10, 2012 10:37 pm

does motion2 ultra work on a quad core q8300 2,5ghz .....I mean smoothly?
picaadi
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 10:33 pm
PC Specification: intel quad core q8300

Postby radi » Tue Dec 11, 2012 7:15 pm

picaadi wrote:does motion2 ultra work on a quad core q8300 2,5ghz .....I mean smoothly?

The best way to check this is to download the free trial ;)
User avatar
radi
Mirillis Team
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 12:31 pm
PC Specification: i7-3610QM, 8GB RAM, GTX 660M

Postby picaadi » Tue Dec 11, 2012 7:28 pm

PS: will there something to be done with those artefacts in motion 2?
picaadi
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 10:33 pm
PC Specification: intel quad core q8300

Postby radi » Wed Dec 12, 2012 1:13 pm

picaadi wrote:PS: will there something to be done with those artefacts in motion 2?

When do you experience these artefacts?
User avatar
radi
Mirillis Team
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 12:31 pm
PC Specification: i7-3610QM, 8GB RAM, GTX 660M

Postby picaadi » Wed Dec 12, 2012 9:35 pm

when I`m playing Motion 60p with or no ultra turn on :(
picaadi
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 10:33 pm
PC Specification: intel quad core q8300


Return to Picture²



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest